Inside Stories

Koutoujian Recognized as “Sheriff of the Year”

Middlesex Sheriff Peter J. Koutoujian has been named the 2023 Sheriff of the Year by the Major County Sheriffs of America (MCSA).

The award was presented to Sheriff Koutoujian during MCSA’s Winter Conference in Washington, D.C. on Friday, February 9, 2024.

MCSA’s Sheriff of the Year award is named after late Orange County (CA) Sheriff – and former MCSA President – Sandra Hutchens who passed away in 2021.

In bestowing the award, new MCSA President – and Santa Barbara County (CA) Sheriff – Bill Brown recognized Sheriff Koutoujian for his focus on employee wellness, and the innovative correctional programming he has implemented for incarcerated military veterans, emerging adults, those with substance use disorders, and much more.

President Brown also lauded Sheriff Koutoujian for his service as MCSA President from February 2020 – February 2022.  During his tenure, Sheriff Koutoujian worked with two presidential administrations, helped grow MCSA membership by 15 percent while simultaneously increasing the diversity of the membership, and led the organization’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“As a professional, there is no greater honor than to be recognized by your peers – inspiring leaders who I truly admire,” said Sheriff Koutoujian.  “As a MCSA member, I have had the incredible opportunity to work alongside some of the most highly regarded corrections and law enforcement leaders on the most pressing issues facing our country.  These men and women are dedicated to serving their communities and I am truly proud to count them as friends and colleagues.”

Prior recipients of the Sandra Hutchens Sheriff of the Year Award include Polk County (FL) Sheriff Grady Judd and Pinellas County (FL) Sheriff Bob Gualtieri.

In addition to his work with Major County Sheriffs of America, Sheriff Koutoujian is also a past president of the Massachusetts Sheriffs’ Association and a founding member of Law Enforcement Leaders to Reduce Crime and Incarceration.  He was also recently elected vice chair of The Council of State Governments Justice Center Advisory Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *